top of page

Rice Stitch Blanket


This beautiful blanket is so thick and plush! After I sent this blanket to Knots of Love, it was sent to a NICU baby's family in Minnesota. The yarn I used was Lion Brand Basic Stitch anti-pilling in the color Critter Craze and it is so soft! By far my favorite yarn to work with. This pattern took about three and a half skeins of 3 oz yarn balls to make a little bigger than 18" x 24" (46 cm x 61 cm). I love using the rice stitch for blankets I am sending to Knots of Love because it is a solid stitch that does not have holes for little fingers and toes of NICU babies to get caught in.

I learned how to make this stitch from the amazing Hooked by Robin on Youtube. If the embed video above does not work click here. She explains how to do the front post double crochet (FPdc) and back post double crochet (BPdc) stitches very simply and demonstrates it clearly. I chained 65 stitches with a I/9 - 5.5 mm hook to make my blanket 24" (61 cm) and enjoyed how easy this blanket was to make since it was not too tedious yet not repeating the same one stitch. Check out Hooked by Robin's Youtube channel as it has many amazing patterns with clear instructions even for beginners!


bottom of page